My Horsey Background and Horse Facilities in and around Gearhart and Astoria, Oregon.

I currently have a spot at a private barn in the Gearhart, OR area.

We have 5 stalls and 6 acres of pasture. The stalls are fully matted and the horses are turned out daily.

IMG_20140413_085957906IMG_20140413_084440021 IMG_20140413_085950677  IMG_20140413_090051032

It’s just a short ride to the beach.

1st Beach Ride 9.3.09 0161st Beach Ride 9.3.09 032IMG_20141116_161116463

When not riding trails I ride at Youngs River Ranch a gorgeous barn in Rural Astoria.

This is Fancy before and after my first dressage ride on her, notice the bitless bridle! Fancy did great!

These pics also show the great facilities and the indoor arena at Youngs River Ranch in Astoria, OR.

.IMG_20141228_102224986 IMG_20141228_110625774

And, here is the large outdoor arena, great for schooling trot poles or small jump courses.

LEwis Road move out Sept 2011, YRR 212 LEwis Road move out Sept 2011, YRR 215

My horsey background:

My Early Riding:
I started riding in 1979, Western, and bareback on a pony at the age of 5. I eventually graduated to my own pony and a few years later to a POA, who I showed in 4-H.

In 1985 I moved up to an arab/quarter mare that was green but athletic. I trained her to show in western pleasure and later retrained her to English.

In 1987 I was asked to show Aladdin, a standardbred/TB cross and worked toward the Junior Grand Nationals with Bianca Barret. We placed well under stiff competition.
After that I rode a number of horses for light training, working on athletics, aids and leads. I was a paid exerciser, gave a number of lessons to kids on my POA and helped our 4-h group leader. I worked with English, Western and Gaited horses.

I later decided to pursue Hunters further and bought a Green Appendix or Running Quarter in 1989, which I trained to jump and then sold in 1991 to go off to college.

At UC Davis I rode in the 3 day event class and rode various UC owned horses.

In 2001 I retrained a dressage horse/3-day prospect “Foxy” to show successfully in hunters. He went on to give lessons and show with my students. Foxy always place in the ribbons with my wonderful lesson students.

In addition to assisting in 4-H as a kid, I taught basic English hunter on the flat lessons from 2005 to 2010 in Gearhart, Astoria and Warrenton, Oregon to beginner and intermediate students.

Show Highlights:

MY STUDENTS:
2010 Clatsop County Spring Show Series: Rachel L. and Clair M. both placed earned First place ribbons in English pleasure/hunters riding FOXY!
2009 Clatsop County Spring Show Series: Some of my lesson kids; including Clair M. and Rachel L. showed for the first time riding Foxy, placing in the ribbons.
2008 Saddle up for St Jude’s Play-day fundraiser at White Rail Acres.

MY HORSES:
2003 Kerns Memorial Classic at Pebble Beach: High Point Champion Division 4 Hunters- Kelly riding Sucha Fox aka “Foxy”
MY EARLY RIDING DAYS:
I showed both western pleasure and english huntseat on my half arabian mare placing in the blues in both disciplines.

1987 Junior Grand Nationals I Won first place in English Hunters: In a qualifying show.
Then placed 5th, 6th and 10th out of 25 horses in my division at the Junior Grand Nationals in San Francisco after only 3 months training on Aladdin.

INFLUENCES:

I have worked with the following trainers who have influenced my style:
Christine Vierra: Hunters                                                                                                                   Donette Wyatte: Western Pleasure
Kathy Wade: Dressage, English pleasure
Bianca Barrett: Hunters/Jumpers
University of California, Davis:
3 Day Eventing class: Dressage, stadium jumping, cross country
Mary Naten: 3 Day Eventing and Dressage
Monty Roberts: Gentling clinic; join up
Dale Wright: Hunters
Richard Keller: Hunters
Malcolm Pyrah, British Olympic Coach : Clinic Hunters over fences

My philosophy is to work with the horses’ own instincts to train them in the gentlest manner possible. Horses learn through repetition and positive reward.

I endeavor to develop a strong foundation through development of a strong seat and light hands.

My current riding focus is English Hunters and Dressage. I have ridden and shown English Pleasure, Dressage, Western Pleasure, Australian/Endurance and Trail.

I am also a certified Dr. Cook’s Bitless fitter.

Please inquire if you are looking for lessons on your own horse.

Since I do not currently have a lesson horse, I am no longer taking beginning lessons students. Those wishing for beginner riding lessons on a lesson horse please contact Patty at Youngs River Ranch.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Youngs-River-Ranch/199143023435448

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

